Fertour Office: Mostecká 3, Prague 1

Phone: +420 - 257 530 232,  Fax: +420 - 257 531 570

Mobil:   +420 - 602 - 379 415

E-mail:  info@fertour-prague.com

Southern Bohemia

  • České Budějovice

    The royal town, founded in the 13th century, is the centre of the South Bohemian region, presently holding one hundred thousand inhabitants. All the houses situated on the large square and the adjacent streets have arcades. The Black Tower finished in 1577 is 72 meters high and it dominates the town. The Town Hall (see the picture) received its present shape in 1730. An important artwork of the South Bohemian baroque architecture is the Samson Fountain located on the Budějovice Square. The biggest of the churches to be found in the town of Budejovice is St. Nicholas Cathedral (situated beside the Black Tower). This church was originally built in the Gothic style. During the big fire of the town in 1641 it was destroyed by fire. However, the church was soon reconstructed in the following years. There are also other sights to be admired in the historical centre of the town; for example the Dominican Monastery, the Sacrifice Church of Our Lady and the remains of fortifications with two towers of a prismatic shape.


  • Český Krumlov

    A walk through the centre of this South Bohemian town is a wonderful experience. Gothic and Renaissance houses, the large Renaissance Town Hall situated on a sloping square, monasteries and churchies; all of that enriched by narrow and winding lanes, have been preserved until the present times without major reconstruction. The town as a whole represents a real treasure of architecture of world-wide importance. However, not only the picturesque town, but also the castle (the second largest in Bohemia after the Prague Castle) is ranked among the most frequently visited places in Bohemia. It has a rich history and was owned by the noble family of Rožmberk, residing there between 1302 and 1600, the family of Eggenberg, to which Krumlov belonged in the last three quarters of the 17th century and the noble family of Schwanzenberg, owning the castle in the period between 1719 and 1947. The original castle was founded by the nobility of Krumlov before the middle of the 13th century. Later on, Petr of Rožmberk built a new section known as the Upper Castle. Substantial structural adaptations took place in the course of the forty-year rule of Vilém of Rožmberk (+1592) after the design of Baltazare Maggi. Both the castles were connected by a new construction.

  • Jindřichův Hradec

    The castle was founded by the Vítkovec family, namely the Lords of Hradec. Their coat-of-arms displays a golden rose situated in a blue field. The town was flourishing under the sign of this rose for more than three hundred years, until 1604. From the beginning, the Lords of Hradec lived in the castle gradually altering it and giving it the appearance of a Renaissance structure. The early 15th century Menhart Tower dominates the castle. One of its halls features an allegorical wall painting called The Parliament of Birds. There is a legend related to this tower. According to it a ghost called the White Lady used to appear at the births and deaths of the Lords of Hradec. The pilaster of the arcade of this Tower represents a typical example of the new architectonic style being then adopted from the Romance countries. Its construction continued under Jáchym of Hradec, who was educated in Vienna. It was him who invited Antonio Ericer to undertake the remodelling of the castle. The renovation works carried out in the style of the Italian Baldassare Maggi of Arogno, the master of the High Renaissance, were completed between 1584 and 1588. Giovani M. Facconi built the charming Renaissance roundel between 1591 and 1596. Jáchym´s son Adam, under the influence of his wife Catherine of Montfort, summoned the Jesuits to the town and had a college built for them by Martin Vlach and Antonio da Sala. In 1596 the domain was inherited by the last offspring of the family, Oldřich of Hradec. He bequeathed it to his sister, the wife of Vilém Slavata, whose family retained the possession until 1694. The castle then came into the hands of the Černín family. They resided there until 1945. Under the Slavata and Černín families, the castle collections were enriched by many valuable works of the Czech Baroque artists, such as Petr Brandl, K. Škréta and others. As the castle was being enlarged, also the town was growing in size and importance. The 13th century Franciscan Monastery, as well as the church of St. John with its fine murals dating from the first half of the 14th century, may serve as the best evidence of the above-said. On the south side of the sanctuary there is a chapel of St. Nicholas built approximately in 1369. Vaulted on to a single pillar, this is one of the earliest buildings of its kind in Bohemia.

  • Rožmberk

    The castle was founded in the first half of the 13th century by Vok of Rožmberk. The first mention of the caste comes from the scroll of King Wenceslas I dated from 1250. In 1612 the castle was passed on to the hands of the Švamberk family, only to be conquered seven years later by a Hapsburg general, Charles Bonaventura Buquoy. The French family of the Buquoys acquired the castle from the Emperor Ferdinand. They were staying in Rožmberk and in the nearby Nové Hrady from the 19th century until 1945. In the course of the following three centuries, the Rožmberk castle underwent several stages of reconstruction. The first one started in 1620, the second one a hundred years later during the time of Charles Albert Buquoy, and the third reconstruction - the most important one - began in the fifties of the 19th century.

  • Třeboň

    Třeboň was established sometime at the beginning of the 13th century. At that time the original settlement grew into a small town with a fortified yard. In 1367 the Rosenbergs founded the Monastery in Třeboň with the Church of St. Jiljí. Approximately during this period the stronghold on the south-western side of the town gradually changed into a small castle, which was then considerably extended before the beginning of the 16th century. Antonio Ericer built a four-winged manor on the sites of the walls of the castle. Before 1602, when the last of the Rožmberk family Petr Vok moved from Český Krumlov to Třeboň, architect Domenico Cometta managed to heighten and extend the manor and decorate its facade with sgraffito rustic work. Among the Renaissance interiors stands out the so-called Courtier Room with its high vault and 32 blazons of the courtiers of Petr Vok. During the period of the last Rožmberk also the city changed its shape considerably. Beautiful patrician houses in the Renaissance style started appearing on the square. They joined the already existing first hotel in the town called "The White Horse" showing signs of remarkable so-called "fortress" architecture - five storey gable construction. The Třeboň Town Hall with additionally built tower was constructed approximately 15 years later (1563). The neighbourhood of the city changed, too, especially as a result of founding or extending of ponds. The dike of the large pond Svět was built by Jakub Krčín of Jelčany only 200 m from the town walls. Filling it up water (1572) was accompanied by considerable worries of the Třeboň inhabitants. Krčín however did not let himself to be discouraged and in 1589 he completed the construction of the pond of Rožmberk, at present with its 490 ha being the largest pond in Bohemia. The last aristocratic owners of Třeboň were the Schwarzenbergs in 1660. They remained the owners of the manor until 1945. Under their ownership the manor was extended and some of the interiors were adapted. The visitors can admire these interiors if they choose the 2nd guided tour of the manor. It is also interesting to visit the tomb of the dukes situated in the park on the far side of the above-mentioned pond Svět. The underground tomb was built after the model of the Italian Campo Santo (F.D. Deworetzky). On the grounds above the tomb there is a monumental Neo-Gothic chapel (open to the public). The chapel was consecrated in 1877 by the brother of the Duke Jan Adolf II, the Prague Archbishop Bedřich Schwarzenberg.

  • Vyšší Brod

    The monastery in Vyšší Brod has been a spiritual and cultural centre of southern Bohemia for more than 750 years. It was established in 1259 by the family of Vok of Rožmberk and the first 12 monks with their abbot came there from the Cistercian monastery in Wilhering near Linz. The life in the monastery in Vyšší Brod remained intact for seven centuries. The monks were forced to leave the monastery for the first time by the Nazis in 1941. Later on, the monastery was closed down by the communists in 1950. Today there is a community of monks living here again. They are trying to restore the monastic regime and the neglected monastery.

  • Zvíkov

    The hill towering over the joining of the Vltava and Otava rivers had been considered a suitable place for new settlements since the prehistoric times. It was there that a castle was founded by King Wenceslas I in 1234. The construction and further development of the castle is connected with the name of the son of Wenceslas I, Přemysl Otakar II. It was he who added a four-wing palace with an irregular layout, so unusual for that time. On the ground and the first floors, the wings are connected by arcade passages with circular windows facing the courtyard. Towards the end of the 13th century, construction work began on ramparts with gates and bastions of the main administrative buildings, and the tower called Hláska was made higher in 1554. The 17th century marked the end of Zvíkov´s prominent era.
  • Hluboká

    The oldest predecessor to the present-day chateau was an early Gothic castle built around 1250. In the Middle Ages the castle was alternately an aristocratic property and a site of royal administration. In 1562 King Ferdinand I sold Hluboká together with inheritance rights to the Lords of Hradec, who changed the castle into a Renaissance stately home. A century later, the Hluboká estate was bought off by Johann Adolf I of Schwarzenberg, a noted European diplomat and the founder of the family stem having stayed in southern Bohemia for almost three hundred years. At the beginning of the 18th century Prince Adam Franz, Johann Adolf´s grandson, had the chateau rebuilt in Baroque style by P.O. Bayer and his successor Anton E. Martinelli. In the latter half of the 19th century Prince Johann Adolf II and his wife Eleonore ordered another reconstruction, this time in the Romantic style. After their return, they invited a Viennese architect Franz Beer to take charge of the rebuilding project. In 1840 the demolition of the castle proceeded from the back wing towards the entrance gate and, in the course of time, its Baroque style gradually changed into the picturesque style of Tudor Gothic. It should be noted that the Hluboká castle used to be surrounded by a large settlement, which had been removed before the reconstruction began. Another architect, Ferdinand Deworetsky, also played a prominent role in the castle reconstruction when he took control of the work after Beer´s death. The reconstruction was completed in 1871.